Home Journal FAQs Contact Us Board Members Site Map


Welcome to the LAPELS Online License and Certification Renewal Site!

We are currently renewing Firms, Individual Professional Licenses and Intern Certifications with licenses scheduled to expire on March 31, 2014.


IMPORTANT

          It is the policy of the Board that the responsibility of knowing the expiration date of a license or certificate lies with the registrant, regardless of whether or not the registrant receives a renewal notification.

          Any licensed engineering or land surveying firm who fails to complete the renewal process timely or who selects any status other than “Active” will be prohibited from offering or providing professional services in Louisiana.

          Any individual licensee who fails to timely complete the renewal process or who selects any status other than “Active” will be prohibited from representing himself/herself to the public in Louisiana as a Professional Engineer or Professional Land Surveyor, or from being designated as a supervising professional for any professional engineering/professional land surveying firm in Louisiana.

**If your license/certificate is Expired, you must complete an “Application to Reinstate”. You may not submit a renewal invoice for an expired license/certificate.





License/Certificate options for renewal
OPTION #1: ONLINE OPTION #2: INVOICE
Renewal Fees
FAQ's & Rules
Search
License Status Definitions
Renewal FAQ's



License/Certificate options for renewal


OPTION #1: ONLINE

To pay with a credit card begin your online renewal here:

IMPORTANT






OPTION #2: INVOICE

To pay by check (foreign checks not accepted) or money order, submit the appropriate renewal invoice found below:

Renewal invoices MUST be typed. LAPELS does not accept handwritten documents.






RENEWAL FEES

The renewal must be completed prior to the renewal deadline of September 30, 2013.  Renewals received after this date will be assessed a late fee of 50% of the normal renewal fee (except for interns). Below is a renewal fee chart:

Status*
(See below)
Renewal Fee
(if received on or before
March 31, 2014)
Renewal Fee
(if received after
March 31, 2014)
PE - Active
$120
$180
PLS - Active
$120
$180
PE - Inactive
$120
$180
PLS - Inactive
$120
$180
PE - Retired
$60
$90
PLS - Retired
$60
$90
PE - Expired
No Fee
No Fee
PLS - Expired
No Fee
No Fee
EF - Engineering Firm
$120
$180
VF - Land Surveying Firm
$120
$180
EI - Intern
$60
$60
LSI - Intern
$60
$60
CPD Sponsor/Provider
$100
$100





















FAQs & RULES

Click here to view the FAQs relative to online license and certification renewals.

Click here to view our Board’s Laws and Rules:
Expiration and Renewal:  Rule §2101
CPD Requirements:  Rule §3105
CPD Units:  Rule §3113
CPD Record Keeping:  Rule §3115
CPD Audit and Review of Records:  Rule §3117






SEARCH





LICENSE STATUS DEFINITIONS

Your ability to provide and/or offer to provide professional services in Louisiana and the amount of biennial licensure renewal fees depends on the status of your license.

Status
Description
Active
Individual has complied with all the licensure and licensure renewal requirements (including CPD) of the Board and may offer and/or provide professional services in Louisiana.
Inactive
Individual has chosen not to offer and/or provide professional services in Louisiana and has indicated that fact on his/her licensure renewal.  Individual can represent himself/herself to the public as a P.E. Inactive, or a P.L.S. Inactive, but cannot otherwise offer and/or provide professional services in Louisiana.  CPD requirements do not apply.
Retired
Individual has chosen not to offer and/or provide professional services in Louisiana and has indicated that fact on his/her licensure renewal.  Individual must be at least 70 years of age or have been a licensee of the Board for at least 35 years.  Unless individual is granted a waiver by the Board, the renewal fee is one-half of the current renewal fee for the active status.  Individual can represent himself/herself to the public as a P.E. Retired, or a P.L.S. Retired, but cannot otherwise offer and/or provide professional services in Louisiana.  CPD requirements do not apply.
*Retired Waiver Granted
Individual is qualified for the retired status and has been granted a waiver of the renewal fee by the Board.  An individual qualified for the retired status may be granted a waiver of the renewal fee if all criteria below are met:
  • individual is at least 70 years of age;
  • individual has been a licensee of the Board for at least 35 years continuously;
  • individual has never been subject to disciplinary action in any jurisdiction;
  • individual has never committed any of the offenses described in La. R.S. 37:698(A)(3), (4) or (5); and
  • individual is of good character and reputation.
Individual can represent himself/herself to the public as a P.E. Retired, or a P.L.S. Retired, but cannot otherwise offer and/or provide professional services in Louisiana.  CPD requirements do not apply.
Expired
Individual has failed to properly renew licensure with the Board and may no longer offer and/or provide professional services in Louisiana.  To reinstate his/her license, the individual must submit to the Board an Application to Reinstate Expired Professional License.






RENEWAL FAQs

Can my renewal invoice be handwritten?
No. All forms submitted to the Board must be typed.  Only the signature may be handwritten.

Will you waive my late fee?
Late fees are seldom waived.  However, if you feel that your late fee should be waived, you must submit a written request to the Board.  Your request will be reviewed and you will be notified of the Board’s decision.

My license/certificate has expired.  Can I pay my past renewal to return to “Active” status?
No.  You must complete an application to reinstate your expired license/certificate. The application may be found here.

Can I be exempt from Professional Development Hours (PDHs)?
Maybe.  See Rule §3109 for acceptable exemptions.

This is my first renewal. Do I need to meet the CPD Requirements?
No. New licensees shall be exempt at their first renewal. Compliance with the CPD requirements must be certified upon the licensee's second renewal and thereafter. See Rule Rule §3109 for acceptable exemptions.

How do I renew my license online if I am a new licensee and exempt from PDHs?
You will need to choose “New Licensee” for your status in order for the CPD section of the renewal to be bypassed.

If my license status is “Inactive”, can I change it back to "Active”?
Yes.  However, you must first submit a letter requesting the status change and your completed PDH Activity Log and supporting documents to show proof that you have met the Board’s requirements for CPD during the previous 24 months.  Click here for more information on CPD requirements and the PDH Activity Log.

What are the requirements for “Retired” status?
You must be at least 70 years of age or have been licensee of the Board for at least 35 years. (See above for license status definitions)

If my license is in "Retired" status, do I have to pay a renewal fee?
Maybe.  You are required to pay a renewal fee unless you meet the requirements of the “Retired Waiver Granted” status and are granted a waiver by the Board.  (See above for a listing of renewal fees and license status definitions).

Do I have to renew my license every two years if I receive the “Retired Waiver Granted” status?
Yes. You must fill out a renewal invoice every two years when your license is due in order to maintain your “Retired Waiver Granted” status; otherwise, your license will expire.

Do I have to fill out a renewal invoice if I am letting my license/certificate expire?
It is not mandatory that you fill out a renewal invoice, however, you are encouraged to submit to LAPELS some form of proper notification so that we can maintain accurate information in our database.

How does “Inactive” status differ from “Expired” status?
See Rule §2103.

“Inactive” status exists for licensees who have chosen not to offer and/or provide professional services in Louisiana and have indicated as such on their renewal invoice.

“Expired” status exists for licensees and interns who have failed to properly renew licensure/certification. Licensees in “Expired” status are prohibited from practicing or offering and/or providing professional services in Louisiana.

Can I pay my renewal fee over the phone?
No.  You must either renew and pay online with a credit card or mail your renewal invoice to the Board with a check or money order.

I missed the renewal deadline.  Can I pay online?
Yes. However, if you let your license/certificate lapse to "Expired" status, you must submit an application to renew your expired license/certificate.

What is the difference between EF and VF for my firm’s license number(s)?
EF = Engineering Firm
VF = Land Surveying Firm

Why did my firm receive two renewal notices?
If your firm possesses licenses to practice both engineering and land surveying, a renewal notification letter for each credential type will be mailed to the firm. One for the engineering firm (EF) license and one for the land surveying firm (VF) license.

I did not receive my renewal invoice.  Do I have to pay the late fee?
Yes.  It is the responsibility of the registrant to know when his/her Louisiana license/certificate expires and to renew on time regardless of whether or not he has received the renewal notification letter(s).